South Carolina DOT honors PDRTA

At the annual Transportation Association of South Carolina Conference March 7, SCDOT awarded the Pee Dee Regional Transportation Authority with the 2020 Transit Provider of the Year Award for outstanding transit services to the public.
PDRTA was recognized in part for their continued efforts to build a sustainable funding model on the local level for their rural services.
PDRTA Executive Director Don Strickland accepted the award and said it takes a team that believes in the core mission to really work well together.
“This award has been earned by our dedicated employees, community leaders and stakeholders throughout the Pee Dee Region and our Board of Directors who have supported our efforts to provide safe and reliable public transit services. Being able to serve the general public and knowing what we do impacts lives really makes it easy. This was unexpected and truly an honor,” he said.
The State Bus “Roadeo” competition March 7 in Bluffton was part of the conference where bus operators from around South Carolina competed on a skills course to demonstrate their abilities. Mitchell Brantley from PDRTA came in second out of 18 contestants in the 35-foot Heavy Duty Bus division.
PDRTA bus driver Charles McCrae won the SCDOT award for “2020 Operator of the Year” in the Demand Response category. Jeanette McNeil with over 30 years at PDRTA won the “Making the Difference Award” for her continued dedication after her retirement from PDRTA. The executive director, Mark Sobiski, of the CareFirst Foundation/CareSouth Carolina, won the Transit Advocate of the Year Award.

Author: Stephan Drew

Share This Post On

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This
Posts Remaining