School Board awards efforts and discusses budget

By Stephan Drew, Editor

During their May 8th meeting, the Darlington County School District (DCSD) Board recognized numerous student musicians, athletes and instructors for their hard work this school year.

Mrs. Carlita King, Assistant Superintendent for Curriculum, Instruction and Assessment, recognized Hartsville High School Band Director Cameron Watkins and Assistant Band Director Marlin Ketter and presented them with the S.C. Band Directors Association’s Outstanding performance Award for the 2022-2023 school year. The Hartsville High School Band has earned the award every year it was presented, since 2015.

Also recognized were the Pee Dee Conference Girls Basketball Championship Team. The Darlington Middle School (DMS) Girls’ Basketball Team won the 2023 Pee Dee Conference and became conference champs. Team members are: Taleiyah Lunn, Tanisha Cockfield, Jeszariah McCall-Baynes, Dy’Nasia Bacote, Aaliyah Woodham, Malaya Hold, Chloe McAlister, Crai’anna Waiters, Taylor Isaac, Yasmine Douglas, Mikayla Graham, Kailee Flynn, Khadeshai James, Aariyinia Hunter, Dailyona Whitten, Jhaniya Rogers, Deziya Backus, and Jakiya Samuel. The Head Cocah for DMS Girls’ Basketball Team is Karen Scott and Vivian Flynn is Assistant Coach.

The Pee Dee Conference Volleyball Championship Team was also recognized. The Hartsville Middle School (HMS) Volleyball Team also won the 2023 Pee Dee Conference and became conference champions. Team members are: Addison Burns, Amelia Flippin, Emerson Garrett, Summer Graves, Adyson Howell, Emmakate Hudson, Mya Madaris, Audrey Perry, Elizabeth Privette, Zoie Shealy, Aliyah Smith, Ella Smith, Stella Smith, Kendall Watford, and Avery Yount. Head Coach for the HMS Volleyball Team is Kristine Byrd and Assistant Coach is Whitney Smith.

In addition, the Hartsville Middle School (HMS) Boys’ Basketball Team won the 2023 Pee Dee Conference to become conference champions as well. The team members are: Terrahn Littles, Karmello Pooler, Jaden Shaw, Reggie Smith, Kayson Dawson, Jaylin White, Ford Wallace, Zi’yon Mason, Andre Jackson, Derion Gattson, Aiden Burns, Ja’Mari Dargan, Garrison Copeland, Derrick Hudson, Jeremiah Gilmore, Jamyari Scipio-Bishop, and Jace Johnson. Head Coach for the HMS Volleyball Team is Melvin Jackson, and Assistant Coaches are Kevin Dawson and Lawrence Thomas.

The board also discussed the proposed budget for next school year and it was approved for its First Reading. The General Assembly in Columbia had been deliberating over the state’s proposed budget and, it was not decided whether the state budget would be passed “As-Is” or, if a Continuing Resolution was passed, the school district would be operating on last year’s budget rather than the proposed one for 2023-2024. At presstime, the S.C. House had passed a $14 billion budget but, the S.C. Senate had not taken its final vote to approve.

The Darlington County School Board will meet again on June 12, 2023.

Author: Stephan Drew

Share This Post On

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This
Posts Remaining