Local high school students compete for $5,000 scholarship

Ten local high school students are competing with students from across South Carolina for a chance at a $5,000 college scholarship in a competition sponsored by the state’s electric cooperatives. All were participants in a virtual experience earlier this summer.

The students were originally selected for a once-in-a-lifetime experience—a trip to Washington, D.C.— in June and/or a trip to Columbia in July, where they would connect with other young men and women to learn about electric cooperatives and state and federal government issues. The COVID-19 outbreak forced the cancellation of both in-person events. However, the students were able to connect virtually June 19-26.

During the experience, the students heard from state leaders including Gov. Henry McMaster, U.S. Rep. Jim Clyburn, Sens. Lindsey Graham and Tim Scott, S.C. Superintendent of Education Molly Spearman and other state leaders. The students also learned how they could compete for the $5,000 college scholarship by working in teams to create an audio podcast that explains how the COVID-19 crisis has affected their lives.

The ten local students competing for the scholarship include:

1.     Jacob Bartlett, of Myrtle Beach, representing Horry Electric Cooperative

2.     Laney Brown, of Conway, representing Horry Electric Cooperative

3.     Emily Rabon, of Aynor, representing Horry Electric Cooperative

4.     Dafne Santos, of Little River, representing Horry Electric Cooperative

5.     Lance Stephens, of Conway, representing Horry Electric Cooperative

6.     Hannah Zincone, of Myrtle Beach, representing Horry Electric Cooperative

7.     Caden Booth, of Lamar, representing Pee Dee Electric Cooperative

8.     Grace Johnson, of Hartsville, representing Pee Dee Electric Cooperative

9.     Mae Collins, of Georgetown, representing Santee Electric Cooperative

10.  Ki Maple, of Greeleyville, representing Santee Electric Cooperative

The winning group of student podcast producers will be chosen by a panel of journalists, including Craig Melvin of NBC’s TODAY show, Kenneth Moton from ABC’s World News Now and Cindi Scoppe and Avery Wilks from The Post and Courier newspaper. Each participant in the winning group will be awarded a $5,000 scholarship. The winner announcement will take place during a live WebEx event on Friday, July 31, at 10 a.m. Interested media can join the live event here: https://electriccooperativesofsc.my.webex.com/electriccooperativesofsc.my/j.php?MTID=m5804cd522eb748d5eca3a6917554b8bf

Author: Rachel Howell

Share This Post On

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This
Posts Remaining