Two students awarded local scholarships

The Susan Johnson Memorial Fund Committee has announced that Savannah Kathryn Odom and James Brian Bagwell Jr. have been awarded the 2022 Susan Johnson Memorial Scholarship Grant in the amount of $4,000 each.
Odom is the daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Parrish (Beth) Lambert and the late Steve Odom. She recently completed her junior year at the University of South Carolina. She plans to pursue a career in pharmaceutical sciences. She is a 2019 graduate of Darlington High School.
Odom is involved in several extracurricular activities at USC. One event is a fundraiser called Dance Marathon. Its purpose is to raise funds and awareness for the Children’s Miracle Network. She is also involved in Super Eliza 5K, the Pediatric Pharmacy’s biggest fundraiser, which raises funds for and awareness of the Sanfilippo Syndrome.
Bagwell is the son of Mr. and Mrs. James Brian (Melanie) Bagwell Sr. He graduated from Trinity Collegiate School in the Class of 2022. He aspires to become an orthopedic surgeon. He plans to attend the University of South Carolina Honors College in the fall, followed by advanced studies at the Medical University of South Carolina.
Bagwell is active in the community and his church. He has served in the mission field with Darlington Presbyterian Church by attending mission trips to West Virginia. He also helped replace the siding on the home of a local resident. Additionally, he completed an internship with the South Carolina 7th Congressional District Republican Party.
The Susan Johnson Memorial Fund was established in l968 in memory of Susan Johnson, the daughter of Mr. and Mrs. W. Richard (Dot) Johnson. At the time of her death, she was an outstanding senior at St. John’s High School and was active in her church and community.
The Susan Johnson Memorial Scholarship fund is administered by a committee operating under the supervision of the Session of the Darlington Presbyterian Church. This non-repayable grant is awarded annually to a recent graduate of Darlington High School, Mayo High School for Math, Science and Technology or Trinity Collegiate School who intends to pursue education or training leading to a career in health care.
The awardee must live in the Darlington area on the School Attendance Zone Map. Factors considered in the selection of the annual recipient of this award include academic standing, need, extra-curricular activities, character and recommendations from the principal and/or faculty of the schools mentioned.

Author: Stephan Drew

Share This Post On

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This
Posts Remaining