School board honors dozens of students’ achievements

From Staff Reports

During a meeting of the Darlington County School Board May 9 at Mayo High School’s conference center, board members honored dozens of students for academic and athletic achievements throughout the school year.
Art in Business grand prize winners: Aziz Feagen, Pate Elementary; Ariana Jackson, J.L. Cain Elementary; Aiden Blackmon, Spaulding Middle; Nathan Evans, Hartsville High
2022 S.C. Skills USA State Competition: Cody Wall, a Darlington High student who attends Darlington County Institute of Technology, won first place in the electrical construction wiring state championship.
Outstanding seniors: Six Darlington High students earned an Associate’s Degree from Florence-Darlington Technical College as part of DHS’ Early College Program: Kelsey Bryant, Makayla Buck, Nyasia Frye, Trinity Harrell, Marissa Morris, Joi Gregg
Five students from Hartsville High completed the coursework for a full International Baccalaureate degree: Chad Hall, Karson Hodges, Christopher Johnson, Brayden Mays, Stella Tew
David Corry is first graduate of the S.C. Governor’s School for Science and Math’s Accelerate Program at Mayo High School.
2021-22 S.C. Junior Scholars: Seven county students qualified as Junior Scholars as part of a State Department of Education program designed to spot eighth-grade students with exceptional talent: Jenny Jiang, Darlington Middle; Kathryn Howle, Darlington Middle; Haley Gehrke, Darlington Middle; Jackson Forrester, Hartsville Middle; John Winburn, Hartsville Middle, Calliope Williams, Hartsville Middle, Shreeja Mohanty, Hartsville Middle
2022 SCBDA Winter Ensembles – Scholastic Novice Percussion State Champion: Hartsville High won first place in the Scholastic Novice Percussion Division at the 2022 S.C. Band Directors Association Winter Ensemble championships. The team includes: Sallie Ward, McKane Mullis, Brodie Hurd, Rileigh Johnson, Kate Bethea, Aden O’Bannon, Noah Turner, Evan Debellis, Jacob Perdue, Joey O’Neill, Nakia Johnson, Dustin Gaymon, Brody Conway, Teagan Lillian, Patrick Thomas, Ethan Griggs, Joanna Neri, Regina Neri
2022 North-South All-Star Wrestling Team: Three Hartsville High wrestlers earned spots on this team: Logan Berger, Robert Williamson, Alex Hunt
2022 S.C. Wrestling Coaches Association 4A All-State Wrestling Team: Five Hartsville High students earned spots on this team: Zachary Lynch, Kimball Moore, Jude Yates, Josh Mullins, Jackson Chavis, Logan Berger
2022 S.C. High School League State Wrestling Champions: Two Hartsville High students won the state championship in their weight class: Logan Berger, Jackson Chavis
2022 SCWCA 4A Senior Wrestler of the Year: Logan Berger, Hartsville High
2022 North-South All-Star Girls Basketball Team: Kindan Dawson, Hartsville High
2022 SCBCA Class 4A All-State Basketball Teams: Two Hartsville High players earned spots on these teams: Kindan Dawson, Jamari Briggs

Author: Stephan Drew

Share This Post On

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This
Posts Remaining