Monk named Hartsville Kiwanian of the Year

Kiwanis Club of Hartsville recognized past president Murphy Monk (right) as 2020 Kiwanian of the Year, and membership chair Jay Davis presented her with a commemorative plaque. PHOTO BY SAMANTHA LYLES

Kelly Benton took charge of the gavel and bell after being sworn in as Kiwanis Club of Hartsville president for 2020-21. PHOTO BY SAMANTHA LYLES

By Samantha Lyles

The Kiwanis Club of Hartsville convened their annual banquet on Sept. 24, and following lunch at the Hartsville Country Club and a musical performance from violinist Te’Quan Coe, the club recognized outgoing president Murphy Monk as Kiwanian of the Year.
Membership chair Jay Davis explained that the Kiwanian of the Year is usually chosen by a group of three former recipients, and no member is eligible to win the award more than once. The winner is typically someone who has represented Kiwanis’ standards strongly in the community and performed as “an integral and vital” club member throughout the year. Davis noted that this year has presented a unique set of challenges for Monk as the organization’s leader.
“2020 has been a humdinger,” Davis said. “Despite all that 2020 has thrown at us, she’s always had a smile and a positive outlook. She’s been flexible, inventive, and creative in dealing with some pretty significant problems.I believe the Hartsville Kiwanis Club is pretty lucky to have her as a member this year.”
Monk said that while there have been some difficult times of late, keeping a positive attitude was easy thanks to the support of her fellow club members. Still, she expressed hope that the next twelve months will bring a return to business as usual.
“I can’t wait until we have a normal year with a barbecue and tutoring the Boys and Girls Club and all of that,” said Monk.
Club officers for 2020-21 were sworn in, with Kelly Benton taking over as President, Curtis Tyner as 1st Vice President, Charlotte Gaddy as 2nd Vice President, Brad Griese as Secretary, Jim Nelson as Treasurer, Jay Davis as Membership Director, David Blackmon heading the Terrific Kids Choir, and Murphy Monk as Past President. Board members for the coming year are Brandon Beasley, John Benjamin, Patrick Rogers, Shannon Munoz, Johnny Andrews, and Patricia Sullivan.
After being sworn in as president, Benton quoted Sir Winston Churchill and encouraged club members to maintain a mindset of generosity and service.
“We make a living by what we get. We make a life by what we give,” Benton said. “Thank you for putting your trust in me, thank you for your guidance, and as we go out we’re all going to do something good in the name of Kiwanis.”

Author: Stephan Drew

Share This Post On

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This
Posts Remaining