FMU recognizes outstanding staff service, announces administrative changes

FLORENCE – Francis Marion University honored four employees with special awards at its annual Staff Awards Luncheon Thursday, June, 22 on campus.

T. Lang Beaty was the recipient of the John J. Kispert Leadership Award, and Katherine Barnette received the Marvin Lynch Humanitarian Award.

Linda Sullen and Sharolyn Robinson were named winners of the university’s two Outstanding Staff awards.
Employees of FMU are responsible for nominating their colleagues for the staff awards. A special committee consisting of past award winners and representatives of the university’s academic schools and colleges selects the final recipients.
Beaty, the recipient of the Kispert Award, is the university’s assistant director of purchasing. He has been with FMU for 34 years. The Kispert award recognizes staff members who exhibit the drive, determination and initiative to embrace the mission of their departments and to inspire their colleagues with a higher standard of leadership than what is called for by the particular employee’s position.

Barnette, who received the Lynch Award, is a digital and print media designer within FMU’s University Communications Department. She has been with Francis Marion for five years. The Lynch Award recognizes a staff member who exhibits an unusual commitment to, and care for, his fellow man at both work and elsewhere.

Sullen is an accountant within the Payroll Department. She has been employed by FMU for 41 years. Robinson is a custodian and has been with the university for 11 years. Both Sullen and Robinson were cited for exemplary service and dedication to their jobs.

The university also announced several changes to its senior administrative staff at Thursday’s Board of Trustees meeting on the FMU campus.

Tucker Mitchell has been promoted to Vice President of Communications for the university. Mitchell, who’s been at FMU for four years, was previously Executive Director of Public Affairs.

Dr. Rebecca Flannagan, chair of the faculty senate since 2012, is stepping down from that post and is will become chair of FMU’s Department of English. Professor Glen Gourley, director of the university theatre and member of the Fine Arts faculty, replaces Flannagan as the chair of the faculty senate.

Dr. Chris Johnson, formerly chair of the Department of English, is the new director of FMU’s McNair Center. The McNair Center oversees a number of research and academic projects, including FMU’s award-winning Model UN team, and its prestigious McNair Scholars program.

Author: mrollins

Share This Post On

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This
Posts Remaining