Democrats’ presidential primary is Saturday

From Staff Reports

South Carolina’s Democratic presidential primary is Saturday, but if you’re voting, remember that not all the names on the ballot are still in the race.
For Darlington County voters, the presidential primary works like a typical election: Polls open at 7 a.m. and close at 7 p.m. Vote in your regular polling place. Any registered voter can cast a ballot in the presidential primary. (And there won’t be a Republican presidential primary; the state GOP called it off because, officials said, President Trump has no legitimate challengers.)
The 12 names voters will see on Democratic presidential primary ballots are Michael Bennet, Joe Biden, Cory Booker, Pete Buttigieg, John Delaney, Tulsi Gabbard, Amy Klobuchar, Deval Patrick, Bernie Sanders, Tom Steyer, Elizabeth Warren and Andrew Yang.
But five of those candidates – Bennet, Booker, Delaney, Patrick and Yang – have dropped out of the race since ballots were prepared. Darlington County election officials say signs will be up at each precinct spelling out who has quit the race.
Biden, who was Barack Obama’s vice president for eight years, has taken a beating in states that already have held caucuses and primaries, but he is still the favorite to carry the South Carolina primary. Biden considers the state his “firewall.”

Author: Stephan Drew

Share This Post On

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This
Posts Remaining