DCSD announces 2021 Art in Business winners

Hartsville High student Stella Tew won a Grand Prize for this submission in the school district’s Art in Business competition. CONTRIBUTED PHOTO 

Jaysha McCullough’s entry also won Grand Prize for Darlington County Virtual Academy. CONTRIBUTED PHOTO.

Karis Wells’ entry also won Grand Prize for J.L. Cain Elementary School. CONTRIBUTED PHOTO.

Mary Elliott Newsome’s entry also won Grand Prize for Bay Road Elementary School. CONTRIBUTED PHOTO.

The Darlington County School District has announced the school winners and the four grand prize winners of its annual Art in Business program. Due to COVID restrictions this year, the winners were announced at the regular monthly meeting of the Darlington County Board of Education April 12. Art in Business creates partnerships with local businesses and organizations to celebrate the school district’s best visual artists. The 16 school winners’ artwork will hang in sponsoring businesses for a year before returning to the district, while the four grand prize winners will hang permanently in the district’s administrative offices. The four grand prize winners, who span four predetermined grade ranges, are: · K-2nd grades: Kariss Wells, J.L. Cain Elementary School – Jhemar Sabido, art teacher · 3rd-5th grades: Mary Elliott Newsome, Bay Road Elementary School – Ember Estridge, art teacher · 6th-8th grades: Jaysha McCullough, Darlington County Virtual Academy – Michelle McCall, art teacher · 9th-12th grades: Stella Tew, Hartsville High School – Jennifer Pietrzak and Jaron Sanders, art teachers Each school selected its school winner. A pool of judges composed of sponsors, art educators from other South Carolina school districts, and professional artists selected the grand prize winners through an online balloting system. Each school winner will receive a $50 prize check and a ribbon. Each grand prize winner will receive a grand prize ribbon, and their art teachers will each receive $200 for art supplies. The individual school winners are: • Brockington Elementary Magnet School – Daniah Fagan • Bay Road Elementary School – Mary Elliott Newsome • Carolina Elementary School – Mya Allen • Darlington County In-stitute of Technology – Emaleigh Del Valle • Darlington County Vir-tual Academy – Jaysha McCullough • Darlington High School – Rileigh Lacy • Darlington Middle School – Ava Steele • Hartsville High School – Stella Tew • Hartsville Middle School – Ava Wilcox • J.L. Cain Elementary School – Kariss Wells • Lamar-Spaulding Ele-mentary School – MaKayla Williams • Lamar High School – Madison Wallace • Mayo High School for Math, Science and Technology – Tatum Clontz • North Hartsville Ele-mentary School – Annalee Griggs • Pate Elementary School – Ryann Grace Cole • Rosenwald Elementary-/Middle School – Adam Roberts • Southside Early Childhood Center – Kaliyah Lisbon • Spaulding Middle School – Ryley Nichols • St. John’s Elementary School – April Baum • Thornwell School for the Arts – Luke Johnson

Author: Stephan Drew

Share This Post On

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This
Posts Remaining