Darlington Chamber of Commerce hosts Annual Awards Night

CHAMBER AWARDS NIGHT — Former S.C. Gov. David Beasley (2nd from left) was a special guest at the Greater Darlington Chamber of Commerce Awards Night ceremonies held March 18 at The Grand Old Post Office. Pictured (from left to right) are: City Councilman Howard Nettles, Beasley, Todd Hardee and Vera Beasley of Carolina Bank. PHOTO BY DAWSON JORDAN

Darlington Mayor Curtis Boyd accepts the DDRA Member’s Choice Award, presented by Lisa Chalian-Rock (center) of the DDRA. Carla Elvington, Director of the Darlington Chamber of Commerce (at right) looks on. PHOTO BY DAWSON JORDAN

T.C. Sawyer accepts the Business Leader 2020 Award for Genesis Healthcare. PHOTO BY DAWSON JORDAN

Harvey Drawdy accepts the Order of the Pearl from Darlington Chamber Director Carla Elvington. PHOTO BY DAWSON JORDAN

Dr. David Eads accepts the 2020 Citizen of the Year Award from Darlington Chamber Director Carla Elvington. PHOTO BY DAWSON JORDAN

The Greater Darlington Chamber of Commerce held its yearly awards banquet Thursday, March 18, at the Grand Old Post Office in Darlington. The event had approximately 140 guests along with a guest appearance made by former governor David Beasley. Carla Elvington, the Director of the Chamber, welcomed all the guests and handed the stage to Mayor Curtis Boyd, who delivered the invocation and directed the Pledge of Allegiance. After a quick speech by Andy Locklair, the awards were presented starting with the Educator of the Year, presented to Michael “Mike” Dukes Rogers of Trinity Collegiate. The Citizen of the Year was awarded to Dr. David Eads followed by the Community Pride award to Carolina Bank accepted by Vera Beasley. The Business Leader of the Year was presented to Genesis Healthcare and received by T.C. Sawyer. The Lifetime Achievement Award was given to former Darlington mayor Tony Watkins. The Legacy Award was awarded to Coach Michael Williamson, former coach of City of Darlington Recreational Department and St. John’s High. The Garden Club Award was awarded to Garden Club President Linda Beckam. The DDRA Award was presented by Lisa Rock and given to Mayor Boyd, who also presented the Order of the Pearl to Harvey Drawdy. The event had catered food, and music upon entry by Scott Suggs who played the grand piano in the lobby. Please come out to next year’s event and show support for the Darlington community.

Author: Rachel Howell

Share This Post On

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This
Posts Remaining