School board honors student athletes

The Darlington County School Board during its Feb. 9 meeting honored student athletes from Darlington County who were chosen to take part in special sports events recently. Three student-athletes from Darlington County were chosen to participate in the 2020 Shrine Bowl of the Carolinas: Bailey Carraway (Hartsville High School), Dariyan “DP” Pendergrass (Hartsville High School) and Anthony Walton (Lamar High School). Though the game was canceled, these student-athletes were chosen to be on the roster. Also, six players from the Darlington County School District were chosen for the South Carolina Football Coaches Association (SCFCA) All-State Football Teams. For the SCFCA Class AAAA All-State Team: Bailey Carraway, Hartsville High School, Dariyan “D.P.” Pendergrass, Hartsville High School. For the SCFCA Class A All-State Team: Derrick Higgins, Lamar High School, Anthony Walton, Lamar High School, Patrick Anderson, Lamar High School, Anthony “A.J.” McFadden, Lamar High School. Two athletes from the Hartsville High School cross-country team were chosen for the 2020 South Carolina All-State Cross-Country Team. Kaitlin Nutt, a student from Hartsville High, and Clarence “Clay” Ewing, a student of Mayo High School for Math, Science and Technology, were selected for the honor.

Author: Rachel Howell

Share This Post On

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This
Posts Remaining