Ten Darlington County students chosen for All-State Chorus

Ten students in the Darlington County School District recently earned spots in the 2019 South Carolina All-State Chorus. Selection to the All-State Chorus is the highest available state honor for high school choral singers.

Nine of the students attend Hartsville High School, and one attends Mayo High School for Math, Science and Technology.

Marisa Johnson, Darlington County School District’s coordinator of Arts and Innovative Programs, praised the students and the value of music education. “I am extremely proud of all of these students. Their selection to the All-State Chorus speaks volumes to how valuable music education is for students,” Johnson said.

The students selected to All-State Chorus are:

Hartsville High
· Raeva Bali
· Larissa Berger
· Diaz Jones
· John Ropp
· Lee Saxton
· Leland Saxton
· Jeniya Smith
· Jakob Thompson
· Logan Vlachoyannis

Mayo High School for Math, Science and Technology
· Landen Allen

Jim Beaumier teaches chorus at Hartsville High School, and Cole Davis teaches choir and band at Mayo High School for Math, Science and Technology.

The South Carolina Music Educators Association makes the selections after an extensive audition process. All 10 students will be invited to study and perform during the 2019 All-State Chorus Weekend in March.

Author: Rachel Howell

Share This Post On

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This
Posts Remaining