More candidates file for local elections

The filing period for several municipal elections has opened and a several candidates have added their names to the November 7 ballot.

Three seats on Darlington City Council are up for grabs, including Wards 1, 2, and 3. Incumbent Mayor Pro Tem Coleman Cannon (Ward # 1) and incumbent City Council members Elaine Reed (Ward # 2) and John Segars (Ward # 3) have all filed for reelection. Cannon will face opposition for the Ward # 1 seat from challenger Audrey Dubose Gore.

The filing fee for candidates in the Darlington City Council race is $204.

In the Town of Lamar, several incumbents have indicated they will not be filing to run for reelection, including Mayor Randy Reynolds, Mayor Pro Tem Jackie Thomas, and Council member Willie Howell. Council member Mike Lloyd resigned his seat at Lamar’s August 14 meeting, citing personal reasons.

Three candidates have filed for the four-year Lamar Town Council seats: Tamron McManus, Sherry Besecker, and Lang Howell. Guy Clements, who has previously served as Mayor Pro Tem and Council member, is running for the office of Mayor.

The filing fee for the Lamar Mayor’s race is $168, filing for the open four-year terms is $78, and filing for the remaining two years of Lloyd’s term is $39.

In Society Hill, the office of Mayor and two Town Council seats are up for election. Mayor Tommy Bradshaw has filed for reelection, and will face opposition from candidate Shannon Steen. Tammy Tucker Gandy and Carolyn Oliver have filed as candidates for Society Hill Town Council.

The filing fee for Society Hill Mayor is $144, and $48 for Town Council seats.

The filing period for all these offices ends September 7 at noon. Election Day is November 7.

For more information, contact the Darlington County Office of Elections and Registrations at 843-398-4900, or stop by their office at 131 Cashua Street in Darlington to file for office.

Author: Duane Childers

Share This Post On

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This
Posts Remaining