USDA emergency loans available for 45 S.C. counties

Darlington County is eligible for USDA assistance as a result of a U.S. Department of Agriculture disaster designation declared for 35 primary and 10 contiguous counties in the State of South Carolina, announced Harry Ott, State Executive Director, of the USDA Farm Service Agency (FSA). The disaster designation is a result of damages and losses caused by excessive heat and drought that occurred from May 1, 2015, and continuing. The decision makes all qualified farm operators in the designated areas eligible for low-interest emergency (EM) loans from USDA’s Farm Service Agency (FSA).

The disaster areas were designated on September 9, 2015. All qualified farm operators in the designated counties are eligible for EM loans, provided eligibility requirements are met. Farmers in eligible counties have eight months from the date of the declaration to apply for loans to help cover part of their actual losses. FSA will consider each loan application on its own merits, taking into account the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability. FSA has a variety of programs, in addition to the emergency loan program, to help eligible farmers recover from adversity.

USDA has also made other programs available to assist farmers and ranchers, including the Federal Crop Insurance and the Noninsured Crop Disaster Assistance Program.

Interested farmers may contact their local USDA Service Centers for further information on eligibility requirements and application procedures for these and other programs. Additional information is also available online at:

Author: Jana Pye

Share This Post On

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This
Posts Remaining