Mark your new calendar for the 2016 Annual Virgil Wells Cancer Walk

The Mayo Athletic Hall of Fame (MHOF) hosted the 6th Annual Virgil Wells Cancer Walk on October 17, 2015. The 140 walkers arrived at the Jessamine Street Hall to enjoy a light breakfast, stretch and warm up prior to the walk. The ages of the walkers ranged from 9 years old to 78 years young to compete for the 1st, 2nd and 3rd place medals presented by Wallace Bradley, MHOF Director and George Ervin, Cancer Walk timekeeper.

“Each year the competition gets more intense than the year before.” said Ervin.

In hopes that more people will become involved next year, Chairperson Regina Damon shared the following:

“Please mark the date on your new 2016 calendar,” said Damon. “The Virgil Wells Cancer Walk is held the third Saturday in October each year – in 2016, the date will be October 21. We are asking the community and others in surrounding areas to save the date so they will not forget to come out and participate in the walk to support a worthy cause. Coach Wells was a well-known standout in the Pee Dee as well as the Carolinas. He was one of the most winning coaches in the area, and to walk for our ‘Dear Old Coach’ will be a memorable event for your whole family. Many chose to walk in honor of their loved ones lost to cancer, and we are thankful for their support.”

The walk is sponsored by the Pee Dee area businesses and personal donations in conjunction wit the Mayo Hall of Fame members.

“A portion of the proceeds benefits the American Cancer Society and the Darlington Cemetery,” said proud son, Virgil Wells, Jr. “That is the beauty of if. My Dad was all about giving back.”
Support for the cause is ongoing. You may mail donations to Mayo Athletic Hall of Famer, P.O. Box 1517 Darlington, S.C., 29540. For more information, contact Regina Damon, Leo Bonaparte, or Wallace Bradley.

Long race winners for 2015 included:

1st Place: Nicolas Jordan (9) Zedekiah Robinson (18) Brittany Davis (24) Kim McLeod (37) Danny Watson (Darlington Police Dept.) and Jackie Woods (51) Nathan Ham (65) Novel Nettles (61) Edith Smith (72) and Peter Wilds.

2nd Place: Joshua Inman (23) Shea Davis (31) Charles Wilson (49) LaVonda Green (41) James Brown (65) Freddie Holloman (75) and Margie Jett (74)

3rd Place: Malik Mickens (18) Henry Ballard (49) Joel Dargan (64) Broadus Baccus (78) and Tonya Richardson.

Short Race winners included;

1st Place: Zack Durant (9) Shania Santana (13) Zaleayia Robinson (15) Hank Klzarsky (55) Trina McCoy (44) Wendell Robinson (60) Gloria Hines (64) and Gertrude Hudson (65)

2nd Place: Michael Green (9) Trinity Green (11) Calah Wingate (21) Yolanda Hunt (41) Nell Graham (63) and Lillie Mae Johnson (78)

3rd Place: Christine Wright (19) Sandra Brown (47) Frances Gerald (59) and Juanita Muldrow.

Author: Duane Childers

Share This Post On

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This
Posts Remaining