Hartsville High School baseball

Coming off a 17-5 season in 2021, and graduating six senior contributors, might seem like a lot of rebuilding will need to be done for Hartsville in 2022. But, for Tony Gainey, the dean of baseball coaches in the area, it’s just another “Tradition Doesn’t Graduate” theme.
Yes, gone are Owen Taylor, Dariyan Pendergrass, Collin Reason, Ashanti McFarland, Harrison Moore and Chapman Parker. Four of these players are continuing their baseball careers at the college level, a fact that makes Coach Gainey very proud.
However, for one to believe the cupboard is bare and a letdown season is forthcoming would be a mistake. For one, South Carolina Baseball Coaches Association co-player of the year Cam Cannarella is back. The Clemson recruit leads the Red Foxes both on the mound and at the key shortstop position when not pitching.
To back Cannarella, there are eight seniors and a strong contingent of underclassmen competing for playing time. Garrett Parker, Roddi Morris, Ryan Jordan, Braden Mays, Josh Jones, Alvee Fullwood, Joseph Dixon, and Ryan Thompson are the seniors. Sophomores Treion McFarland and McKendric Douglass, as well as freshmen Daniel Parker and Jackson Moore, will also compete for significant playing time. McFarland and Parker are also Clemson recruits.
In addition to ace righty Cannarella, Gainey will rely on juniors John Alexander and Andrew Askins, along with sophs Quez Hadley, Cole Winburn, and Douglass to take the mound.
Beginning his 14th year at the reins, Gainey relies on his assistants Pete Stokes, Adam Fedewa, and Michael Chapman to help mold the Red Foxes.
Hartsville has a rich history in state competition, winning titles in 1972, 1981, 1986 and 2007. In addition, they were state runner-up in 1980, 1982, 1987, 1994, 2013 and 2014.
They also boast a trio of alumni who played at the major league level, most notably Bobo Newsom. Richard Batchelor and Jordan Lyles are the other two. Lyles is still active, most recently with the Texas Rangers. In addition, six others played at the minor league level including Micky Gilbert, Jimbo Mims, Charlie Coleclough, Brooks Schumake, Jacob Shumate, and Tyrone Pendergrass.
— Don Gearhart

Author: Stephan Drew

Share This Post On

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This
Posts Remaining