DCSD announces 2020 Art in Business grand prize winners

This piece, titled “Puppy Eyes,” won the Grades 3-5 Grand Prize for Jordynn Odom of Brunson-Dargan Elementary School in the 2020 Art in Business contest.
This piece, titled “Steampunk,” won the Grades 9-12 Grand Prize for Tatum Clontz of Mayo High School for Math, Science and Technology in the 2020 Art in Business contest.
This piece, titled “She Will Be Loved,” won the Grades 6-8 Grand Prize for Trinity Robinson of Darlington Middle School in the 2020 Art in Business contest.
This piece, titled “Rainbow City,” won the Grades K-2 Grand Prize for Nevaeh Garcia of Cain Elementary School in the 2020 Art in Business contest.

The Darlington County School District has announced four grand prize winners of its annual Art in Business program. The district also announced 18 other school winners.
Art in Business creates partnerships with local businesses and organizations to celebrate the school district’s best visual artists.
The 18 school winners will hang in sponsoring businesses for a year before returning to the district, while the four grand-prize winners will hang permanently in the district’s administrative offices.
The four grand prize winners, who span four predetermined grade ranges, are:
·Nevaeh Garcia, Cain Elementary School, Grades K-2
·Jordynn Odom, Brunson-Dargan Elementary School, Grades 3-5
·Trinity Robinson, Darlington Middle School, Grades 6-8
·Tatum Clontz, Mayo High School for Math, Science and Technology, Grades 9-12
Those students’ art teachers are Jhemar Sabido (both Garcia and Odom), Nena McConnell and Lyn O’Donnell, respectively.
Each school selected its school winner. A pool of judges composed of sponsors, art educators from other South Carolina school districts and professional artists selected the grand prize winners through an online balloting system. Each school winner will be mailed a $50 prize check and a ribbon. Each grand prize winner will be mailed a grand prize ribbon, and their art teachers will each receive $200 for art supplies.
The individual school winners are:

Brockington Elementary Magnet School – Kassidy Menasco

Brunson-Dargan Elementary School – Jordynn Odom

Cain Elementary School – Nevaeh Garcia

Carolina Elementary School – Lindsey Shuff

Darlington County Institute of Technology – Jasmine Haynes

Darlington High School – Sofiya Saranchuk
Darlington Middle School – Trinity Robinson

Hartsville High School – Stella Tew

Hartsville Middle School – Joelle Wood-Mount
Lamar Elementary School – Sailor Rodgers

Lamar High School – Amber Melton

Mayo High School for Math, Science and Technology – Tatum Clontz

North Hartsville Elementary School – Clara Sullivan

Pate Elementary School – Ta’Mya McClain

Rosenwald Elementary/Middle School – Shahquan Pendergrass
Southside Early Childhood Center – Charli Privette

Spaulding Elementary School – Starr Williams
Spaulding Middle School – Zy’Eaire Clark

St. John’s Elementary School – Elizabeth Reed
Thornwell School for the Arts – Camron Allen

Washington Street Elementary School – Nala Gee

West Hartsville Elementary School – Kinsleigh Myers

Author: Stephan Drew

Share This Post On

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This
Posts Remaining