Darlington native Lloyd Mitchell recognized for outstanding service

The National Public Safety Telecommunications Council has recognized Darlington native Lloyd Mitchell, the South Carolina Forestry Commission’s statewide communications coordinator, for his exemplary service to the arena of public safety telecommunications by presenting him with the NPSTC Participants Award.

Lloyd Mitchell, SC Forestry Commission Statewide Communications Coordinator Photo contributed.

Lloyd Mitchell, SC Forestry Commission Statewide Communications Coordinator
Photo contributed.

The NPSTC Participants Award was created to recognize individuals and/or organizations that have supported NPSTC and the public safety community on critical objectives such as achieving interoperability.
Mitchell’s contributions play a role in the important work NPSTC does to make public safety telecommunications better.

“The progress we have seen over the past 18 years has been substantial, and this could not have been accomplished without the dedication and participation of our member organizations, volunteers and committed individuals like [Lloyd],” said NPSTC Chair Ralph Haller. “It is because of the valuable contributions of volunteers like [Lloyd] that NPSTC is better able to speak with a unified voice on behalf of the nation’s approximately 2.5 million first responders.”

Lloyd serves as the NPSTC’s governing board member representing the National Association of State Foresters. He has served the public safety community for more than 30 years, beginning as a rookie firefighter and progressing through the ranks until promoted to chief at the South Darlington Fire Department. He was director of the Physical Facility at the South Carolina Fire Academy. He joined the South Carolina Forestry Commission as Regional Dispatch Manager for Wildfire Control and is now the SCFC’s Statewide Communications Coordinator and a member of the SC Forestry Type 2 Incident Management Team. He has also served as past-president of the Forestry Conservation Communications Association and is a member of the American Radio Relay League.

Author: Jana Pye

Share This Post On

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This
Posts Remaining