Darlington County students win top honors at Sand Hills Science Fair

Winners of the Sand Hills Region IV Science Fair were honored during an awards ceremony in Thomason Auditorium on the Francis Marion University campus.

The one-day event, featuring the presentation of assorted science projects, was held April 7 at FMU. More than 225 students from 14 area schools participated. Numerous departments and campus organizations at FMU sponsored the event.

Thomas Ward of Darlington’s Mayo High School, was the overall winner for his biochemistry project entitled “The Effects of Full Enzymes on Gelatin.” He received a plaque and a $500 prize.

Senior Division:

Division I
First – Thomas Ward (Mayo), Second – Raven Mark (Mayo), Third – Tianna Harrell (Mayo), Honorable Mention – Gabrielle Beauford (Mayo)

Division II
First – Curneisha Williams (Mayo), Second – George Haynes (Darlington IT), Third – Victoria Penny (Mayo), Honorable Mention – William Carter, Futrella McNeil (Mayo)

Division III (Team Division)
First – Josh Fountain, Shane Gainey, Nicholas Gibbs (Darlington IT), Second – Morgan Cass, Mary Hill (Florence Christian), Third – Caleb Little, Davis Tyner (Florence Chri.), Reagan Castles, Katelyn Coker (Carolina Acad.), Honorable Mention – Steve Joyner, Isaac Row (Darlington IT), Demeatrius Gilbert, Devin Patel (Darlington IT), Madison Bedenbaugh, Jackson Odom (Florence Chr.)

Junior Division:

Behavioral/Social: First – Sivani Vish (Johnakin Mid.), Second –Madelyn Welch (E. Clarendon), Third – Hailey Springs (Johnakin Mid.), Honorable Mention – Regan Lee (Florence Chr.)

Botany: First – Ava Palmer (Carolina Acad,y), Second – Parson Granger (Florence Chr.), Third – Shira Reaves (Johnakin Mid.), Honorable Mention – Matthew Davis (Johnakin Mid.), Raven Bullock (Palmetto Mid.e)

Chemistry: First – Vraj Patel (Palmetto Middle), Second – Ansley Butler ( Florence Chris.), Third – Ryan Traver (Hartsville Home Educators), Honorable Mention – Christine Fleming (E. Clarendon), Jalen Woodberry (Palmetto Mid.), Keishauna Thompson (Bennettsville Intermed.)

Earth & Space: First – Hong-Ming Tan (Williams Mid.), Second – Logan Upton (Johnakin Mid.), Nathaniel Rhodes (Florence Chr.), Third – Nav Singh (Williams Mid.), Trey Buie (Johnakin Mid.), Honorable Mention – Bryanna Reed (Johnakin Mid.), Ashlee Banda (Palmetto Mid.)

Gerontology/Medicine & Health: First – Anish Jona (Williams Mid.), Second – Emanuel Tart (Johnakin Mid.), Third – Jacob Coleman (Johnakin Mid.), Honorable Mention – Madison Smith (Florence Chr.)

Mathematics: First – Mia Reno (St. Michael), Second – William Anderson (E. Clarendon), Third – Eric Jones (Johnakin Mid.), Honorable Mention – Quaquayla McEachern (Johnakin Mid.)

Microbiology/Zoology: First – Isabella Ouyang (Williams Mid.), Second – Cecilia Callozzo (Williams), Third – Savannah King (Williams Mid.), Honorable Mention – Jeffrey Collins (Johnakin Mid.)
Physics: First – Rebecca Liu (Williams Mid.), Second – Evan Reid (Williams Mid.), Third – Nicholas Barr (Johnakin Mid.), Honorable Mention – Riley Ham (E.Clarendon )

Team Projects: First – Sarah McCown, Margaret Parham (Williams Mid.), Second – Jonazia Lewis, Makaella Moody (Johnakin Mid.), Third – Ethan Mills, Catherine Murphy (St. Michael), Honorable Mention – Caleb Wallace, Luke Wallace (Ronald E. McNair Jr. Mid.), Nick Thompson, Sam Soles (Florence Chr.)

Author: Jana Pye

Share This Post On

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This
Posts Remaining