2018 Rosenwald Reunion

The 2018 Rosenwald Reunion was held Oct. 26-28.

Since 1979, Rosenwald alumni and friends have been gathering for an all-class school reunion. In 1994, it became biennial.

On the first day of the event, the Indoor Tailgate was held at Darlington Middle School Gym. Saturday morning, Oct. 27, alumni headed to Darlington High School for a Reunion Brunch in the school’s cafeteria.

That evening, the Reunion crowd gathered at the Florence Center for its banquet. William K. McCall (’81) served as Master of Ceremonies. Attention turned to the presentation of Rosenwald’s first Lifetime Achievement Award. Patricia T. Thomas (’74) had the honor of presenting the award to Willie “Bill” Boyd, who had served as Rosenwald’s last principal and retired after 50 years of leadership as a Darlington County school administrator while holding the rank of Interim School Superintendent.

In a continuance of recognizing other Rosenwald standouts, the Athletic Hall of Fame (HOF) Induction ensued. Scottie Benjamin (’77) who chairs the HOF committee, presided over the ceremony. Inductees into the 2018 HOF Class included: Evelyn M. Ellerbe (’69), record basketball rebounder; Louvenia M. Graham (’65) record basketball assist leader; Derrick McQueen (REMS ’88), professional European basketball MVP and current Wilson High coach; and Johnny Williams (’64), undefeated baseball pitcher and former Winston-Salem commissioner of sports.

Order of the Golden Eagle, a 50-year recognition, went to members of the class of 1967 who were present, including James Brown, Booker T. McPhail, Julia Moses, Joseph Nettles, Arthurine Lincoln Perkins, Harvey J. Rogers and Roosevelt Wallace.

Present from the class of 1968 were Howard Benjamin, Levern Black, Barbara Frazier Brooks, Diane Thomas Brown, Flouncey Robinson Dixon, Raymond Dixon, Willie Dudley, Clarence Ings, Marjorie Tedder Johnson, Robert McPhail, Moses Perkins, Robert Robinson, Shirley Gandy Sawyer, Tommie Lee Smith, Hermenia Benjamin Stevenson, Mary Cox Stroman, Cinda Ketter Wallace and James Williamson.

Each inductee was presented with an official gold-bordered certificate with an embossed gold eagle and a Rosenwald golden eagle lapel pin. Other inductees who were not able to attend the banquet with their respective classes in previous years included: Johnny Williamson (’64), Charlie Robinson (’65) and Mary Sanders Grant (’66).

Author: Rachel Howell

Share This Post On

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This
Posts Remaining