Thin candidate turnout for local political offices

By Samantha Lyles, Staff Writer,

As of press time – Monday, Aug. 12 – few candidates had filed for political office in Darlington County’s municipal races, and some offices have no candidates at all.

For the Nov. 5 Election Day ballot, two seats on Lamar Town Council will be up for grabs, but according to Lamar Town Hall, no candidates had filed as of Monday morning.

Two incumbent candidates have filed for re-election to Hartsville City Council. Mayor Pro Tem Johnny Andrews has declared for his District 4 seat, and Bobby McGee has filed for a full term representing District 6. McGee won a special election in February to replace retired Councilman William Shirley.

The term of Bernice Wilson, representative for District 2, expires in November, but no candidates have filed for that seat.

In Society Hill, two men have thrown their hats into the ring for seats on Town Council. On Aug. 1, Charles W. “Chuck” Baker and Jimmy Scott Dixon both paid the $209 filing fee and officially became candidates.

So far, three candidates have filed for the office of Mayor in Darlington: businessman Curtis Boyd, Council member /Mayor Pro Tem Carolyn Bruce, and incumbent Mayor Gloria C. Hines.

Darlington City Council members Bryant Gardner and John Milling have filed for re-election to their at-large seats. Bruce has stated that she intends to file for re-election to her Council seat as well.

Only one other candidate, Winfred Herrington, has filed for an at-large Darlington City Council seat.

The filing deadline is Thursday, Aug. 15 at noon. Potential candidates should visit their local City Hall or Town Hall to file their candidacy forms and pay any required filing fees. For further information, contact Darlington County Elections and Registrations at 843-398-4900

Author: Rachel Howell

Share This Post On

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This
Posts Remaining