FMU presents student academic awards

Francis Marion University presented awards to outstanding students in all its academic departments during a ceremony held April 18 in the McNair Science Building’s Chapman Auditorium on campus.

The top students in each department were recognized. Some students also received special named awards. A number of university awards were also presented.

Bridget Nicole Gainey of Patrick, received the Pee Dee Electric Cooperative Scholars Award; Robert Benjamin Snipes of Latta, received the President’s Undergraduate Research Award; Morgan McDaniel Hicks of Latta, received the Duane P. Myers Honors Award; Lucas James Murley of Mount Pleasant, received the Honors Student Advisory Council Award; Devin Mark Kellis of Florence, received the Phi Kappa Phi Award; and Kayla Joyce Staley of Florence, received Scholastic Achievement Award.

Individual department awards are listed below:

College of Liberal Arts
— Morgan McDaniel Hicks of Latta, Biology Award; Robert Benjamin Snipes of Latta, Biology Research Award; Sarah Christinna Deas of Johns Island, Outstanding Sophomore Biology Award.

Chemistry — Zachary Bruce Greenwood of Pamplico, General Chemistry Award; Margaret Ashleigh Evans of Florence, Organic Chemistry Award; Caroline Olivia Granger of Florence, Analytical Chemistry Award; Indigo Malika Green of Effingham, W.H. Breazeale Chemistry Major Award.

English — Ashley Katherine Harris of Loris and Rebekah Ann Haselden of Johnsonville, English Award; Savannah Lee Barber of Florence, McCrimmon Writing Award; Frances Taylor Robinson of Greenville, Playwriting/Screenwriting Award; Lucas Connor Berry of Simpsonville, Katharine S. Boling Memorial Award in Fiction; David Alan Guess of Darlington, Richard B. Larsen Memorial Award; Brooke Danielle Mogy of Hartsville, Robert R. Parham Poetry Award.

Modern Languages — Dustin Schauer-Watford of Bennettsville, Modern Language Award.
Fine Arts — Elizabeth Christina Carter of Cheraw, Peggy Love McLaughlin Art Award; Caroline Elisabeth Spearman of Greer, ack Baker Memorial Award; Kadarius Shamaun Seegars of Camden, Theatre Arts Award.
History — Benjamin Martin Jackson of Hemingway, History Award.

Mass Communications — Alexis Daijona Stokes of Hampton, Mass Communication Award.
Mathematics — Alexander Lyn Joyce of Sellers and Jackson Kent McDonald of Mullins, Mathematics Award.

Nursing — Olivia Jules Rice of Dillon, Nursing Award.
Engineering Technology — Jeremy Glenn Hatfield of Effingham, Engineering Technology Award.

Health Physics — Rigel Frederick Lochner of Florence and Jessie Victoria Carter of Andrews, Health Physics Award.

Computational Physics — Cody Tyler McKenzie of Hamer.

Industrial Engineering — Dax Parag Doctor of Florence, Industrial Engineering Award.

Political Science — James Reid Gates of Florence, Eileen L. Kirley-Tallon Political Science Award; Maxwell Pearson Davenport of West Union, Neal D. Thigpen Award in South Carolina Politics and Government; Tanner Kellon Sarvis of Nichols, Dr. Jesse A. Coles Jr. Award.

Psychology — Caitlin Siney of Wynnewood, Pa., Douglas A. Mandra Memorial Award in Applied Psychology; Stephanie Anne Bosch of Mount Pleasant, L.A. Hoff Psychology Research Ward; Amber Elizabeth Stanley of Saint George, SC, Mike Jordan Psychology Award.

Sociology — Nkili Olabisi Gause of Loris, Linda M. Summer Social Work Award; Santanna Kadeedra Johnson of Columbia, Sociology Award.

School of Business — Dana Roxanne Gulledge of Ruby, Accounting Award; Trey Justin Watford of Florence, Computer Science Award; Randolph Christopher Gravely of Mount Pleasant, Economics Award; Jannik Roettlingsberger of Marl, Germany, General Business Administration Award; Luke Charles Bateup of London, England, Management Award; Donald Carroll Livingston of Florence, Management Information Systems Award; Melody Leanne McColl of Clio, Marketing Award; and Johnny Ross, III and Lana Marie White of Florence, Wall Street Journal Award in Finance.

School of Education — Jessica Kaitlin Webb of Mullins, Thomas W. Sills Memorial Award in Early Childhood Education; Alison Nicole Huggins of Nichols, James E. Potterfield Award in Elementary Education; and Sierra Joye Sports of Lake View, Middle Level Education Award.

Author: Jana Pye

Share This Post On

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This
Posts Remaining