Filing closes for November election in Darlington County

By Samantha Lyles, Staff Writer,

The filing period for several municipal elections closed on September 7, and a number of candidates got in just under the wire to add their names to the November 7 ballot.

Three seats on Darlington City Council are up for grabs, including Wards 1, 2, and 3. Incumbent Mayor Pro Tem Coleman Cannon (Ward # 1) and incumbent City Council members Elaine Reed (Ward # 2) and John Segars (Ward # 3) have all filed for reelection.

Cannon will face opposition for the Ward # 1 seat from challengers Audrey Dubose Gore and Sheila Baccus. Reed and Segars are running unopposed.

In the Town of Lamar, several incumbents will not be running for reelection, including Mayor Randy Reynolds, Mayor Pro Tem Jackie Thomas, and councilmember Willie Howell. Councilmember Mike Lloyd resigned his seat at Lamar’s August 14 meeting, citing personal reasons.

Three candidates filed for the four-year Lamar Town Council seats: Tamron McManus, Sherry Besecker, and Lang Howell. One candidate, Inez B. Lee, has filed for the two-year remainder of Lloyd’s unexpired term.

Guy Clements, who has previously served as Mayor Pro Tem and councilmember, is running for the office of Mayor. Clements will face opposition from fellow Mayoral candidate Darnell Byrd-McPherson.

In Society Hill, the office of Mayor and two Town Council seats are up for election. Mayor Tommy Bradshaw has filed for reelection, and will face opposition from councilmember Michelle Steen. Incumbents Denise Douglas and Carolyn Oliver have filed for re-election. Tammy Tucker Gandy has also filed for Society Hill Town Council.

Hartsville’s incumbent Mayor Mel Pennington is running unopposed. For Hartsville City Council District #1, incumbent Adlena Graham faces challengers Carolyn Govan and Tre Gammage. City Council District #3 incumbent Teresa Mack will face candidate Trevor McDonald. In Council District #5, incumbent Bob Braddock is unopposed.

The filing period for all these offices ended September 7 at noon. Election Day is November 7.

For more information, contact the Darlington County Office of Elections and Registrations at 843-398-4900, or stop by the office at 131 Cashua Street, Darlington.

Author: Duane Childers

Share This Post On

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This
Posts Remaining